Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

See what I did there? Yeah…I’m pretty clever sometimes. πŸ™‚ Hush all you spanish speaking peeps, I don’t care if that’s not grammatically correct, it’s awesome!

So this morning was definitely one of those days where the alarm and me were NOT agreeing. It was telling me it’s time to wake up at 4:30am (a ridiculously unspeakable hour to be awake) and I was telling it that there’s no way I’m getting out of my nice comfy bed and it better shut it’s mouth! Well….the responsible adult in me (and the annoying alarm) won out and I dragged my self out of bed. Thank goodness for coffee…and homemade coconut milk creamer!

You know the great thing about getting up BEFORE the butt crack of dawn? I get to spend that time with some AMAZING peeps doing something I LOVE. It’s funny, but even though I fought with myself to get out of bed, the thing that finally convinced me to get up was reminding myself that I’m going to get to go help people change their lives, and that’s big. Crossfit isn’t just about doing some crazy WOD that leaves you gasping for air and sweating like crazy, it’s about building confidence in yourself, learning to love who you are and OWNING IT!

Speaking of owning it, I am proud to say I’m getting better at loving who I am and flaunting it. Take my red hair for example, when I was younger I would get teased about it all the time and I really hated it, because it made me different. Now, I have realized I LIKE being different, and I am proud to be a fiery redhead! πŸ™‚ Speaking of fiery redheads…

Pelirroja’s Crockpot Ropa Vieja (Cuban Beef Stew):

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 lb Chuck Roast
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 red or yellow pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 5 ribs celery
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 can tomato sauce (8 oz)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (14 oz)
  • 2 cans tomato paste (6 oz)
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp paprika
  • 2 tbsp cumin
  • 2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 chopped chipotle pepper in adobo sauce + 1 tbsp sauce
  • 3-4 bay leaves
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Thinly slice your peppers, onions and celery, and place in the bottom of your crockpot
  2. Heat 1 tbsp coconut oil in a large skillet over medium high heat and brown your roast on both sides, about 3 minutes per side.
  3. Place your browned chuck roast on top of the vegetables in the crock pot. Cut small slivers in the meat and shove your garlic cloves in.
  4. Add all of your spices and the salt and pepper. Next add in your diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste, chipotle with adobo, beef broth and wine.
  5. Place your bay leaves into the mix, but leave the tops sticking out so you can pull them out easily when the meal is cooked.
  6. Turn your slow cooker on “low” and cook for 8-10 hours, or cook on “high” for 4-6 hours
  7. When your ropa vieja is done, use a couple forks to shred the beef and mix everything together, then serve!

*This recipe pairs very well with Cauliflower rice, made cuban style! A great recipe for this can be found over at PaleOMG. That girl is stinkin’ awesome! I first got the idea to make ropa vieja from her site, but decided I wanted to do a more traditional version with a bit more kick to it, so I made up my own! I decided not to change anything about the cuban rice recipe since it’s my first time trying it, and it was so good I was eating it straight out of the skillet, but I may modify it in the future! πŸ™‚

Image

Image

Image

Image

