Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image

This week has been crazy. You have no idea how glad I am that tomorrow is Friday! This week is the last week for some of the classes I teach at the university, which means I am working on getting all of their grades together as well as getting them ready for their finals. On top of that I have to prep for my next 9 week classes. AND I can’t forget about my own grad classes that I have to study for and my HUGE lit review paper I need to be working on. Oh and don’t forget that pesky little thesis… Needless to say, I am a *bit* stressed this week!

Thank goodness for crossfit, I don’t know what I would do without it! There’s nothing like throwing around some heavy weights and pushing yourself to the limit to take your mind off of things! I am making some big gains lately and really focusing in on my weaknesses *snatches and squat cleans, I’m talking to you! It’s amazing to walk into that box everyday and know you are making yourself even better than yesterday!

So I realized today we are already into our SECOND week of October, how crazy is that?! I can’t even believe how fast time is going! In some ways this makes me nervous because I still have SO much to do this semester, but in other ways I am SUPER excited because this means I am getting closer to getting my Crossfit Certification!!! I am so pumped to finally be certified!!! I am having a blast interning as a coach at my box and can’t wait to be the “real deal” 🙂

In other news I have a bit of a confession to make to you guys. I haven’t been as strict with my paleo eating as I should be. I have been having a few cheat meals and getting a little lax, and I am DEFINITELY noticing the difference. It’s not good. But we are all human, and it happens! So instead of beating myself up about it, I’m buckling down and I’ve written out a plan for myself that I plan to stick to. I realize I do much better if I have a solid plan that I can look at and hold myself accountable to. It doesn’t mean I can’t change it up every once in a while, but having a guideline to what I’m going to eat and when, will really help keep me in check. Even when your eating a healthy diet, you still have to be careful and make sure you are getting the right amounts of nutrients and intaking the right amount of calories! So I am planning to really listen to my body and eat when I’m hungry, stop before I get full, and most importantly, make sure I’m providing my body with the GOOD foods it needs and deserves! I may still have a cheat meal every once in a while, but I’m going to try to be really strict for awhile and see how I feel, then go from there!

Speaking of wonderful, delicious, paleo friendly food. Check out this awesome chili I made for dinner tonight! Fall to me means chili, and whenever it gets a bit chili outside, I want some chili inside my belly! 🙂 This particular chili is my own creation that came about from my husband wanting a spicier version of my normal chili and me wanting a bit more vegetables in the mix. And that’s how this chili was born! *Warning: This chili contains habaneros which are a pretty HOT pepper, so if you don’t like things very spicy, you may want to omit them!

Spicy Habanero Chili:

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb grass fed beef (I prefer leaner cuts)
  • 2 yellow onions, chopped
  • 2 green peppers chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 8 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped
  • 3 habaneros, chopped(Be VERY careful handling these babies, they are spicy and you do NOT want to touch your skin after touching them, so make sure to WASH your hands after handling them!)
  • 2 tablespoons oregano
  • 2 tablespoons basil
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 3-4 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1-2 teaspoons cayenne pepper (more if you like it spicy!)
  • A pinch of salt and pepper
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 3 (14 oz) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 1/4 cups red wine

Directions:

  1. Add the beef and chopped vegetables to a skillet over medium heat and cook until meat is no longer pink.
  2. Transfer cooked meat and vegetables to a large stock pot and add in all the seasoning and tomato paste.
  3. Cook for about 1 minute, stirring constantly to incorporate all the spices and tomato paste.
  4. Add in the diced tomatoes and wine and bring to a boil.
  5. Once the mixture is boiling, turn the heat down to low and cover. Let the chili simmer on low for 1 hour, stirring occasionally.
  6. After 1 hour, uncover the chili and let it cook for another 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  7. Serve by itself, or over some spaghetti squash or sweet potatoes for a little more depth

Image

Image

I thought the name of the wine I used in this recipe was pretty appropriate! 🙂

Image

