Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_1032

Hey guys! Sorry it’s been a little while, last week was a pretty crazy week! I can honestly say I’ve never trained so hard in my life, but I absolutely LOVE it!!! Highlights of the week included PRing on my squat snatch, getting through EVA, which was a crazy WOD that literally took us almost 50 minutes, and getting 10 Ring Muscle Ups at the end of a pretty hard WOD. I am amazed at how much I am improving every day! Sure, there are still days where I struggle and can’t seem to get the weight I want or perform a certain skill, but everyday I am getting a little bit better!

I can’t believe we are already half way through July! Time is just flying, and I am realizing I’m going to be back to school way too soon! I also only have a few more weeks before my big GRE re-test, so I really need to buckle down on the studying!!! Sometimes I think there just aren’t enough hours in the day!! Then again, I know I would be bored if I didn’t have all this stuff to keep me occupied, so I can’t really complain!!

So it’s time for me to be honest with you guys…I haven’t been doing so great with my clean eating/cooking. I have been sooo exhausted from all my training that by the time I get home the last thing I want to do is cook. This has resulted in lots of take-out and not so great food, which has started to catch up to me. Not only have I been feeling lethargic but this morning I was VERY sick and couldn’t keep anything down. I guess it’s my body’s way of reminding me I need to treat it right! So…time to get back on that clean eating bandwagon!

I did some food prep today in honor of trying to feed my body better and I made some simple but delicious sweet and spicy sweet potato fries! They are a great side and work very well as part of a post-workout meal!! They are seriously so easy to make, but really hit the spot!

Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp chili powder

Instructions:

  1. After you’ve peeled the sweet potatoes, cut them up into small matchstick sized fries
  2. Line a pan with foil and spread the sweet potato fries on the pan
  3. Spray the sweet potato fries with a layer of coconut oil
  4. Sprinkle half the seasoning on the fries, toss and cover with the rest of the seasoning, toss again
  5. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 40 minutes, tossing the fries half way through
  6. Devour! They are really yummy with some homemade olive oil mayo 🙂IMG_1027

P.S. If you’ve never heard of coconut oil spray, you are missing out!!! I found mine at my local health food store, but I’m sure places like whole foods have it as well! It’s nice because it gives the food that coconut flavor without adding quite as much fat since it’s just a spritz 🙂

IMG_1028

