IMG_1074

Steak….yep, that’s what’s been on my mind lately. I am not a red meat person. I will have the occasional burger if I’m really craving it, but I’m not a fan of ground beef in general and steak usually makes me a bit queezy. I think it’s the texture…I’m not really sure. Anyway, this past week all I can think about is steak. As soon as I finish my workout, it’s all I want to put in my belly. I can only assume it’s my body’s way of telling me it wants lots of protein, and maybe iron…I don’t know. All I know is our bodies are smart and if they are craving something there’s usually a reason, so I have been eating lots of steak!

So as I’m writing this I have a really annoying “crick” in the left side of my neck, due to doing handstand push ups on a turf floor, which really means I was pretty much doing them on concrete…smart right? Plus we have done like… over 150 handstand push ups in the last week…which is a lot…so anyway, it’s annoying and I hope it goes away soon because “ain’t nobody got time for that”…

So my crossfit training is still going well! I love training with paige, she really pushes me and makes me better. I have been able to do so many things that I never even knew I could do! Plus I am finally feeling like I am legitimately making it through these workouts, not just struggling, gasping for air, crawling on the floor at the end. A lot of times I get done and even feel like I could do more!! But, this also means it’s time for me to step up my game and push myself harder because if I have energy left at the end of my workout, then I’m not working hard enough! I think i’m going to start incorporating some extra endurance training, like some swimming and running. Especially since Dave Castro just announced that for the 3rd? year in a row, there is a swimming event involved in the games…guess I better get working on that!

Speaking of endurance training, I almost forgot I have a half marathon to run in september….ha! A while back I convinced one of my friends at work to run it with me, this was back when I couldn’t crossfit and was doing a lot of running, because that’s pretty much all I could do. Anyway, then I started crossfitting again and the running went out the window…but now my friend has been training super hard and is all excited to run so I can’t bail out now! So I guess I should start doing a few long runs here and there….;-)

So another big thing in regards to my crossfit training that has happened this past week is I have decided to change up where I’m training. It’s a pretty sensitive topic so all I am going to say is I have really enjoyed training at the crossfit box I’ve been at for the past year, and I have learned so much from my coaches there and think of the people there as family. I will always have a special place in my heart for that box, but in order to grow as a crossfit athlete I have decided it’s time for a change.

Since I have such specific goals and training plans, it’s not enough to just do the regular gym WODs anymore. People crossfit for all sorts of reasons, and if being in shape is the main goal, the gym WODs are more than enough. However, I don’t just want to be in shape, I want to compete. I want to go to regionals, and hopefully even the games some day. These are real goals that I have, and I think they are possible. So I have found a place where I can focus on these goals. At my new box I am going to have access to a lot of different resources, including an amazing olympic lifting coach, gymnastics coach and many other very educated people who are going to work with me to achieve my goals.

We have already talked about what I want to do, and we are going to come up with a specific training plan based off of my strengths, weaknesses and what we think I need to focus on. As an exercise scientist and soon to be exercise physiologist, I love that they are letting me have a say in my programming and working with me to create a specific plan just for me. I’m really excited for this process. I am of course going to keep training with paige until she leaves for school (at which point I will cry lol), in fact they are very encouraging of me doing that, but once she leaves I will have to figure out where I’m at and what I need to do to keep improving. So hopefully there will be big things ahead! I am even toying with the idea of adding a “training” page where I will post what I’m doing so you can get an idea of my workouts if your interested..what do you think?

Well if you made it through all that, congratulations! That was kind of long…sorry…so now I will reward you with a recipe, and can you guess what the main ingredient is? STEAK of course!

Sizzlng Chicken and Steak Fajitas 

Ingredients:

-1 lb boneless,skinless chick tenders

-2 thinner cut sirloin steaks

-5 Bell Peppers ( I did 1 red, yellow and orange and 2 green for variety)

-2 small yellow onions

-2 tbsp minced garlic

-1 tbsp olive oil

-1 tbsp steak seasoning(try to find a low or no sodium one)

-1 tbsp onion powder

-1 tbsp garlic powder

-1 tbsp chili powder

-1/2 tbsp cumin

-1/2 tbsp paprika

-1 tbsp Lawry’s seasoned salt

-Salt and pepper

I will be honest, I didn’t use exact measurements on the seasonings for this so you may have to wing it a little bit 😉

Instructions:

  1. Pull out two large skillets and heat them over medium.
  2. Season your chicken and steak with the above seasonings, splitting the seasoning evenly between the two meats, except use the seasoned salt only on the chicken and the steak seasoning on the steak(duh)
  3. I chose to cook my steak first, and then cook my chicken in the leftover steak juice, because of my ridiculous steak cravings lately, I kind of wanted my chicken to taste like steak HAHA Anyway, for the steak it’s a matter of preference, I like mine medium rare so I just did a few minutes on each side, then set aside to rest. Then I threw my chicken breast in and put the lid on. Cook for about 5-10 minutes per side, until the chicken starts to brown
  4. While your meats are cooking slice your peppers and onions into strips and throw into your second skillet with 1 tbsp olive oil. Season with salt and pepper, add the minced garlic and cover for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally until veggies are soft.
  5. When your chicken is done set it aside and transfer the veggies to the skillet where the meat was cooked. I do this so the veggies can get some of the flavor from the meat as well, trust me it’s sooo good. You will thank me later.
  6. Once the veggies have been tossed in the leftover meat juice or whatever, slice up your meats and mix it all together. I like to add in some hot sauce. Enjoy!

IMG_1075

