Tags

, , ,

So I’ve been MIA….again…sorry I do that sometimes. LIfe just crazy busy, ya dig? I am back at graduate school as well as teaching undergrad classes, still working at the gym in the mornings and spending a couple hours a night training for crossfit. So…yeah. Anyway, I’ve been meaning to write this post for a little while now but didn’t know exactly what to say. (Sorry in advance as this post will be a little long…)

Image

So here’s the deal. Recently my training goals have shifted, and I am very seriously focusing on training for regionals and eventually the games. My coaches and I have gotten together and discussed what I want, where I want to be with my training and goals and when I can get there. Basically we’ve put together a 2 year plan, sounds crazy right? I can barely plan for next week let alone 2 years….but they have it all set up for me and the goal is to have me ready for regionals and hopefully the games by 2015. I’m still obviously hoping to make it to regionals this year, but that isn’t the main focus at this point. We would rather take the time to really get my form correct and my lifts strong and then be able to DOMINATE regionals next year. So for the next 3 months I’ll be participating in the Olympic lifting club, spending 2 plus hours a day oly lifting…woohoo…can you sense my (sarcastic) excitement?

Image

I’ll admit I’m not a huge fan of the idea of focusing mainly on oly lifts for 3 months, but I do understand why my coaches want me to do it and I trust them, so it’s what I’m gonna do!

Another change that has occurred is my eating. I discovered I have been severely under eating calorie and macronutrient wised based off of my exercise level. So I am not on what’s called the EAT TO PERFORM plan. You can read about it HERE, as it’s a little complicated for me to explain. Basically, I eat for performance, focusing on making sure I am getting the right amount of carbs, proteins and fats in, focusing on intaking most of my carbs pre and post workout. The idea is to burn more fat in the morning, and save my carbs for my workouts. So far I have already seen some awesome results with this. I am PRing some lifts and have WAY more energy during my workouts. Although this makes sense since I found out I was under eating by over 1,000 calories. Sheesh!

Image

Image Source

Anyway, the other thing about this eating plan is it isn’t paleo, like at all. I still eat clean but because I need to get in A LOT of carbs quickly, I admittedly am using a lot of white rice and sometimes potatoes to meet my macros. I also sometimes have some not healthy things as well…ahem…m & m cookie ice cream sandwiches anyone?

Image

So, I’m not sure how many paleo recipes I’ll be posting for you guys. And if that bums you out I’m sorry. What I will be doing is posting my training and what I am doing in case you want to know. And I’ll still post random eats and other fun things going on in my life.

So I’m not sure at this point if I will change the name of the blog or not, and I don’t want to take away any of the paleo resources I already have posted because I know some people find them helpful. But in the next few weeks you may see a bit of a shift in the blog. I’m not sure yet. I’ll keep you peeps posted!!!

So…if you made it through this post kudos to you!!! And I hope you’ll stick with me through this adventure 🙂

