Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey guys! 

So I’m soo ready for the weekend! But it’s only thursday, so we aren’t quite there yet. I have to admit this semester has caught me off guard. I was really expecting it to be a nice easy semester with minimal work and some free time. HA ha ha ha….yes that’s the universe laughing at me. This semester is HARD. My grad classes are quite challenging, my teaching schedule is CRAZY, my crossfit training is pretty tough and takes 2-3 hours to complete, I am still in the process of finishing up my Physical Therapy School applications, oh and yeah I still work at the gym at the butt crack of dawn during the week….

But enough of my pity party, i need to just SUCK IT UP BUTTERCUP! 🙂 Anyway, let’s talk about my training. So I’m still in limbo for about another week and a half until I start the oly club…so I’ve really just been coming in and doing whatever I want. Which can be fun, but can also be super frustrating and unproductive. I like to have a plan, a schedule, an idea of where I’m headed. So this is driving me a little crazy…

One thing I have started consistently focusing on, however, is my CORE. Apparently it’s kind of weak..which is lame and unacceptable. I tend to always have a sore lower back, especially after doing a movement that involves stabilization of my core, because my lower back automatically arches way too much and my core isn’t strong enough to counter-act that movement…KB swings, hang cleans, push press…I’m talking to YOU!

Image

 

It’s hard to tell from this angle, but my back is definitely arching here…lame.

So…since this is sort of a problem, my coaches have given me about 5 million different core exercises to do every. single. day. Some of them I have to do twice a day…SAY WHA?! Here’s an example of what I did yesterday:

3 sets of 10 each direction: GHD Circles holding an 18 lb KB 

3 sets of 10 forward and backward: Alligator crawls with furniture sliders

3 x 30 second plank hold with 45 lb plate on back

4 sets of 25 Ab Mat Sit ups

3 sets of 15 GHD Sit ups

3 sets of 10 GHD Back Raises holding 15 lb plate

3 sets of 30 second hollow rock holds

3 sets of 10 Barbell Roll outs with a 35 lb bar and 25 lb plates on each side

And that’s not even all of it!!! So all I can say about this is I BETTER have a rockin’ 6-pack when all is said and done…but I probably won’t because that’s my life…BUT hopefully my Core will be SUPER strong 🙂 I am however, going to take some “before” and “after” pics of my “abs” just to see if there are any changes just for fun…so if there’s a difference after a month or so, I’ll let you know! 

So after teaching spin for an hour yesterday, then heading straight to a 3 hour crossfit training session, i was STARVING! So I got home and scarfed down one of these:

(Paleo peeps close your eyes, because this is NOT paleo…)

Image

So this beauty is a homemade burrito, kind of a chipotle copy cat. With the amount of macros I need to get in after my workouts, a burrito with white rice, chicken, fajita veggies, salsa, black beans and a little full fat sour cream really fits the bill. I’ve definitely been on a burrito kick lately, but decided making my own homemade would be both cheaper and healthier 🙂 SO yeah it’s not paleo, but it works for what I need right now. Plus it’s delicious!!! 

In other news, SO pumped to get an hour long sports massage today! My muscles are in desperate need of some loosening up. I am still having an annoying “crick” in my neck that constantly bugs me and I am hoping this massage will help with that!!

P.S. I forgot to tell you guys we recused a kitten!! Her name is Danica, she’s such a sweet little thing 🙂

ImageHappy Thursday!!!

 

 

 

